Contact Us

Chapter Council 2021-2022

Chair: Sue Arney 

IMG 1053

Sue is Lecturer in Teacher Education at The University of Melbourne’s Graduate School of Education where she teaches music education into the Early Childhood, Primary and Secondary Master of Teaching courses. Having originally trained as a secondary classroom music, instrumental and ensemble teacher, Sue has since worked in a variety of settings from early years to tertiary in both regional and metropolitan Victoria.

Deputy Chair: Jen Skate

Methodist Ladies’ College, Kew

Secretary: Ros McMillan


Dr  Ros McMillan AM has been teaching for over 50 years, retiring as Head of Music Education in the University of Melbourne in 2005. After 20 years training both general primary and specialist music teachers, her graduates are in schools throughout the world and her curriculum materials are also used by teachers around the world. 

Treasurer: Michael Travers

VJME Editor: David Forrest

Image 1

Dr David Forrest is Professor of Music Education in the School of Art at RMIT University. He is member of the National Executive of ASME and editor of the Australian Journal of Music Education and the Victorian Journal of Music Education. His ongoing research is in education policy, doctoral research and the music of D. B. Kabalevsky.

Bulletin Editor: Ros McMillan

General Members:

Leon de Bruin

Image 2

Dr Leon de Bruin is an educator, performer and researcher in music education, creativity, cognition, collaborative learning, creative pedagogies, and improvisation. His work at the Conservatorium of Music, University of Melbourne spans pre-service teacher training in music education, curriculum, pedagogy and assessment. He has published over 50 articles, chapters and edited books.

Susie Davies-Splitter

Erin Heycox

Image 3

Erin is the music leader at Preston High School.

Katie Hull-Brown

Heather Morcom

Image 4

Heather teaches music to early childhood and secondary students at Soundgarage, Hallam Senior Secondary College, and Doveton P-9

Pip Robinson

Pip Robinson

Dimitri Iaonnou

Thomas Williams

Emily Wilson



ASME Victorian Chapter (Incorporated)
PO Box 16 East Melbourne Victoria 8002

Victorian Chapter Rules: ASMEVic2015 FINAL